Hollywood Rocks – Compilation

Hollywood Rocks - Compilation

As Deadline / Cleopatra Records prepares to release a 4 CD set paying tribute to the bands of the L.A. strip, ahead of it is a 17-track advance CD with some absolutely killer demo versions of classic metal anthems.

Leading off is a much more vocally intense version of Dokken’s “It’s Not Love”.  The song in this recording is raw, aggressive and much more c*ck-sure with what sounds like Jeff Pilson and Mick Brown adding to the vocal proceedings.  Warrant’s version of “Last Action Hero” sounds nothing like anything on their debut release and probably would have been most at home on “Dog Eat Dog”.  “On Your Knees” by Great White is the original version from their debut EP which was one nasty track when it was released over 20 years ago.  It spews as much venom as W.A.S.P.’s “Animal” sans the profanity.   Pretty Boy Floyd’s “Don’t Save Your Love” is a cool mid-paced tune that sounds really good in this raw form.  “Wish It Was Summer” by Love/Hate has a forewarning sound to it that seems to point right towards Seattle.  Definitely not one of their better tracks.  “Feel The Shake” by Jetboy seems to have a much heavier backend and very well may point to the style of their long lost Elektra debut CD that was buried in the vaults.

There are some really impressive moments on the disc and some others that just don’t stand the test of time too well.  Personally, I can’t wait to hear some of the obscurities that await in the 4-disc set.

Sampler Track Listing:
01. Dokken – It’s Not Love
02. W.A.S.P. – F**k Like A Beast
03. Quiet Riot – Let’s Go Crazy
04. Ratt – In Your Direction
05. Warrant – Last Action Hero
06. Poison – Look What The Cat Dragged In
07. Stryper – Honestly
08. Great White – On Your Knees
09. Rough Cutt – Hold On
10. L.A. Guns – Electric Gypsy
11. Faster Pussycat – Babylon
12. Keel – The Right To Rock
13. Bang Tango – Someone Like You
14. Pretty Boy Floyd – Don’t Save Your Love
15. Love/Hate – Wish It Was Summer
16. Black ‘N Blue – Hold On To 18
17. Jetboy – Feel The Shake

4 Disc Set Track Listing:

DISC #1 Early ‘80s (1980  1985)

HOLLYWOOD ROSE Killing Time, HELLION Run For Your Life. MICKEY RATT Dr. Rock, PLAIN JANE Time Warp. CANDY Whatever Happened To Fun, STEELER Cold Day In Hell, DOKKEN It’s Not Love, W.A.S.P. Fuck Like A Beast, BLACK N’ BLUE Hold On To 18, THE JONESES Looks So Good, THE ZEROS Kokomo Joe, QUIET RIOT Let’s Get Crazy, ARMORED SAINT No Reason To Live, Stephen Pearcy’s RATT In Your Direction, BITCH Be My Slave, KERRY DOLL Too Good For Heaven, WARRANT Last Action Hero, SIN Break Down The Walls (Stop the Rock), XCITER Sleepless Nites

DISC #2 Mid/late ‘80s (1985  1988)

POISON Look What The Cat Dragged In, LIZZY BORDEN American Metal, L.A.GUNS (P. Black’s) Roll The Dice, STRYPER Honestly, GREAT WHITE Down On Your Knees, DEMOLITON GALORE Bulimia Babe, HARLOW Rock The Box, SLUT Dr. Monster, LA GUNS (w/Phil Lewis) Electric Gypsy, DECRY Dead End Zone, NITRO Bitch On My Back, FASTER PUSSYCAT Babylon, ROUGH CUTT Hold On, TUFF Sinner Street, ODIN 12 O’clock High, SALTY DOG Strong Medication, SOUND BARRIER Gladiator, WWIII Love You To Death, ROCK CITY ANGELS Hush Child, THE SEA HAGS Doghouse.

DISC #3 Late 80’s

KEEL (live) The Right To Rock, JAILHOUSE The Innocent, LONDON Rainbow Bar & Girls, CHERRY STREET Hellraiser, JUNKYARD Hollywood, CHINA Love In Cold Blood, BANG TANGO Someone Like You, BLACK CHERRY Fading Away, KING KOBRA Mean Street Machine, MOTORCYCLE BOY Cats Paw, TOMMI GUNN Rip, Rattle and Roll, STARS FROM MARS We Got Tonight, CATS IN BOOTS Her Monkey, LIONS & GHOSTS Meteor Boy, ANGORA Give Me A Line, VIRGIN I’m No Angel, HANGMEN Desperation Town, XYZ Inside Out, KILL FOR THRILLS Commercial Suicide, D’MOLLS Action

DISC #4 Early ‘90’s

ELECTRIC ANGELS Def Generation, BURNING TREE Planned Disaster, JETBOY Feel The Shake, BIG BANG BABIES 8 Arms, LYPSWITCH Sexx On The Sun, SYANIDE KICK Hollywood Angel, DARLING CRUEL Changed, SAIGON SALOON Days Gone By, REBEL REBEL Tonight’s Your Night To R&R, SPIDERS & SNAKES California Slide, HARDLY DANGEROUS Take Me To The Mountain, SKULL I Like My Music Loud, YESTERDAY’S TEAR Cold, PRETTY BOY FLOYD Shut Up!, BLACKBOARD JUNGLE Chicago, LOVE/HATE Wish It Was Summer, MONDO KANE High On A Dream, FIZZY BANGERS Hai Karate, ,ALLEYCAT SCRATCH Take A Bite Outta Me